1 of 5
Danger level 9
Type: Trojans
Common infection symptoms:
  • Installs itself without permissions
  • Connects to the internet without permission
  • Shows commercial adverts
  • Slow internet connection
  • Annoying Pop-up's
  • Slow Computer
Other mutations known as:

Microsoft Security Essentials Alert

The latest threat to hit our online world is the fake Microsoft Security Essentials Alert which is generated by a malicious Trojan. Microsoft Security Essentials Alert has been created by malicious people in order to try and make you believe that your computer system is infected. The bad news is that the moment Microsoft Security Essentials Alert runs on your machine, it will pose as a real Windows Microsoft Security Essentials program.

Truth be told this alert is going to be titled: Microsoft Security Essentials Alert and will alert you to the factor that a Trojan was detected on your machine. This Trojan is going to be listed as Unknown Win32/Trojan. Once you have been prompted to clean your computer and make use of the scan online button, you will get a generated list of 25 antivirus programs. Five of them are rogues while the other 5 are legitimate antivirus programs.

The five rogues distributed may include: Red Cross Antivirus, Peak Protection 2010, Pest Detector 4.1, Major Defense Kit, AntiSpySafeguard (AntiSpy Safeguard). Unfortunately for computer users all over the world, you are all at risk. Once a user\'s machine has been rebooted the selected rogue will perform a fake system scan.

Internet users all over the world need to be alerted to the factor that once your machine is in fact infected any programs which you will use will be terminated and instead you may see any of the following warning messages:
\"The application taskmgr.exe was launched successfully but it was forced to shut down due to security reasons.
This happened because the application was infected by a malicious program which might pose a threat for the OS.
It is highly recommended to install the necessary heuristic module and perform a full scan of your computer to exterminate malicious programs from it.\"

These two security messages may be displayed from the Windows taskbar and you will see the following messages if your computer system is infected with any of the rogues generated by the fake Microsoft Security Essentials Alert:
\"Warning! Database updated failed!
Database update failed!
Outdated viruses database are not effective can\'t guarantee adequate protection and security for your PC! Click here to get the full version of the product and update the database!
\"Warning! Running trial version!
The security of your computer has been compromised! Now running trial version of the software! Click here to purchase the full version of the software and get full protection for your PC!\"

The world of computer security is becoming increasingly scarier as time progresses. Due to much research and information gathered it can be concluded that threats such as the fake Microsoft Security Essentials Alert is best removed with the use of an antispyware removal tool.

Download Spyware Removal Tool to Remove* Microsoft Security Essentials Alert
  • Quick & tested solution for Microsoft Security Essentials Alert removal.
  • 100% Free Scan for Windows


  1. sheila Aug 25, 2010

    This virus has disabled my ability to open any documents or the internet. I typically back date my computer to get rid of viruses, however this one pops up every time I try. Now what?

  2. Eric Aug 25, 2010

    me too! this is terrible

  3. John Aug 26, 2010

    Same here, trying the solution above at this time, hope it works cause i dont wanna run windows in safe mode forever D:

  4. methos Aug 31, 2010

    wtf i cant close close the allert and i cant open the net! it a fake microsoft security essential alert

  5. VirHater Oct 20, 2010

    It blocks internet access, annoying as ever...

  6. Kate Oct 21, 2010

    My whole desktop is blanks - I cant do anything and need some advice please....

Post comment — WE NEED YOUR OPINION!

Please enter security code:
This is a captcha-picture. It is used to prevent mass-access by robots.