Click on screenshot to zoom
Danger level 6
Type: Adware

Google Security Warning

There are a lot of fake warnings out there that pop up on your screen when you browse the web. Google Security Warning is one of such fake alerts, and it could be there to redirect you to some websites that look for easy ways to make money. Normally, such intruders are annoying nuisances that can be easily avoided if you were more careful about the websites you visit. On the other hand, there might be potentially unwanted programs on your computer, so you should consider scanning your system with a licensed antispyware tool today.

It is highly possible that adware or potentially unwanted programs make use of this fake alert to make some financial profit. The most annoying part in this is that users often download potentially dangerous programs themselves without realizing it. For instance, if you need some new application, you should refrain from downloading it from a file-sharing website. It always seems that downloading programs from file-sharing sites is very easy and simply. And while it sure does not take much to click a download button at some website, you have to remember that no one can guarantee the third-party installer you use will carry only reliable applications. If you go through the installation blindly, you will end up installing a number of unwanted programs, and some of them might be using Google Security Warning to redirect you to affiliated websites.

Aside from that, there are many ways to encounter this fake alert, even if you do not have potentially unwanted programs on-board. It is also possible to come across Google Security Warning if you open a specific website that is full of outgoing links. Normally, users think that clicking outgoing links loads such pop-ups, but that is not always the case. Sometimes, it is enough to click anywhere on the page to generate another window with a fake alert on top of it. That simply shows that you need to be careful about the websites you visit because some of them might be associated with potentially harmful programs.

Another important thing to remember if you want to avoid the likes of Google Security Warning is to stay away from file-sharing websites. Not only do these websites promote potentially unwanted programs that might be associated with such intruders. These websites might also host outgoing links that redirect you to fake alert pop-ups, so it is clear that your computer’s security strongly depends on your web browsing habits as well.

Again, we would like to emphasize that seeing the Google Security Warning alert does not automatically mean you are infected with anything. On the other hand, the fake notification will try to make you think that you have severe computer security issues and you must tackle this supposed “infection” immediately. The warning will probably not allow you to close your browser’s window, saying that you need to perform particular actions before you can leave the page. However, no matter what the notification might tell you, please remember that you can always close your browser with the Alt+F4 command or simply kill the process via Task Manager.

While believing the Google Security Warning message will not automatically expose you to malware threats, this fake alert might redirect you to sites that require filling out various forms for online marketing purposes. What’s more, the fake security alert might also push you into calling fake tech support numbers, thus leading to potential money loss. Sometimes these scams also require you to fill in credit card information, and if that data falls into the hands of cyber criminals, it is obvious that it will be used in some illegal financial operations.

Therefore, you have to do everything you can to avoid negative consequences that might away you at the other end. Ignore anything Google Security Warning might show you, and then run a full system scan with the SpyHunter free scanner on your computer. You need to determine whether you have unwanted programs installed and if so, you need to remove them immediately.

As far as the pop-up is concerned, restoring your browser settings to default should be enough to get rid of it. However, please remember that you should also stay away from unfamiliar sites that could be associated with similar fake alerts.

Reset Browser Settings to Default

Internet Explorer

  1. Press Alt+T and open Internet options.
  2. Go to the Advanced tab and press Reset.
  3. Mark the Delete personal settings option and click Reset.
  4. Press Close.


  1. Press Alt+H and open Troubleshooting information.
  2. Press Refresh Firefox at the top right of the new tab.
  3. Click Refresh Firefox on the confirmation box.
  4. Press Finish when the reset is complete.


  1. Press Alt+F and open Settings.
  2. Click Advanced at the bottom of the page.
  3. Scroll down and press Reset.
  4. Click Reset to confirm.
Download Spyware Removal Tool to Remove* Google Security Warning
  • Quick & tested solution for Google Security Warning removal.
  • 100% Free Scan for Windows

Post comment — WE NEED YOUR OPINION!

Please enter security code:
This is a captcha-picture. It is used to prevent mass-access by robots.